In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the arguer claims that the Waymarsh citizens preferred mystery novel instead of literary classics and the first study's result was wrong. To justify the arguer's assumption, the arguer points out that the mystery novel books are more frequently checked in the public libraries according to the second study. The conclusion may seem logical at first glance. With a series of unwarranted and poor evidences and holes, the argument fails to convince us with such conclusion.

A critical issue involved in this argument is that the frequency of reading sone types of books cannot be severed as the proof of their preference, since people may just seek for the relaxation via reading mystery books. An appropriate example cannot be far away. For instance, students have to read a lot of textbooks during their school period. For the sake of passing the exam or finshing homework, reading textbooks spend the students' major time. However, I believe that nobody will answer they really like to read their textbooks. Therefore, the arguer should provide more accurate data regards of the altitude of the readers when they get books from public libraries.

Furthermore, those people who tend to say that the literary classics may just belie their real bias for reading. In reality, if you tell senior people you prefer to reading mystery novel, they may believe that you are not mature enough. In view of this, it is suggested that the arguer should conduct the investigation through more reliable schemes. Without providing credible evidences, the argument cannot be willing to be accepted by audiences.

Finally, even if the aforementioned assumptions on which the conclusion is based are credible, the argument merely relies on the argument that the Waymarsh citizens are more likely to read the mystery novel, and we are not informed any believable and professional evidences. In fact, those people who tend to read books in the libraries cannot represent the entire citizens, since many people perfer owing their books by purchasing from libraries or shopping malls. In view of this, the arguer is unable to obtain such paramount assumption without the information of the library user data.

Overall, the argument is unpersuasive and the arguer should provide more credible information to demonstrate the above conclusion. Otherwise, the hasility carrying out such results would pose negative impact on the validity of the proposed studies.