In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

The author of claim assumes that for the sake of the difference between two surveys conducted by the same research group, in the first study, the respondents did not present the accurate data about their reading habits. It is a claim which rests on the series of vague surmises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first shaky hypothesis is about the evaluation of two surveys. Although the study had been done by the same research group, it does not guarantee that both of them are identical to be capable for comparison. The valid comparison regards complete details and as long as the both case studies have the unique features, the accuracy of the comparison is fortified. In this case, there is no clear data about the case studies of two surveys. Maybe at the first study, one portion of the people is evaluated, and this scoop varies from the second cluster. Thereby the comparison of two diverse groups for seeking a desired outcome is a fatuous expectation.

The next problem with the argument is related to the surmise that the author considers the public library as the principal and sole resource for borrowing books. Actually, there is a list of doubt on the accuracy of this consideration. For instance, there are other places such as the bookstores and the private library where the people can check out the books. Maybe these ignored places number is more than the quantity of the public libraries. Besides, people borrow the classical literature from these locations. Or perhaps, the public library does not provide the adequate resource for the classical literature. As a result, people are obliged to borrow the mystery novels from them. The argument would have been strengthened if the author had explicitly presented the statistical value of the places for the borrowing books and the public library covers the large ratio of these places.

Finally, even the public library includes the huge portion of the lending books areas; the hypothesis is doubtful due to the vague term of frequently. The author asserts that the frequent books have been checked out from the public are mystery books. The ambiguous term of frequently could not illustrate the people's actual tastes and desires. Maybe they borrow the mystery book, but they do not convince by its contents and return to the library. Or perhaps people purchase their favorite books _classical literature- and they do not need to borrow them from the library. Otherwise, the mystery books are checked out from the library since individuals do reluctance to have it as the favorable book in their home bookshelves. Each scenario would present a possible reason for the frequent checking out of mystery novel apart from the people's desire to reading the mystery novels.

All in all, the argument is flow for the reasons mentioned above. It could have been persuasive if the author had presented the data related to the similarity between two case studies, statistical information about the available spots for lending books. Moreover, the term of frequently lucidly demonstrates the people's desire. Otherwise, the hypothesis is dangling and opens to the debates.