SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument provided, the Supercorp has moved its headquarters from Middleburg to Corporateville and the decision made was the best one. It is because according to a survey, employees preferred living in an area which is not urban. In addition to it, there are lower taxes in Corporateville and is also a safer place to live. Though the allegations made in the argument seems legitimate, there are many loopholes which are need to be introspected in order to make this argument a valid one.

To begin with, the author alleges that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg as the number of homeowners are more in Corporateville. However, one cannot come to a conclusion that a place is superior to other just because there are many homeowners. For instance, if the climatic conditions in Corporateville is better than Middlesburg, one can say that the former is superior. The author has not provided any such statement which supports his notion that Corporateville is superior place to live. Had the author provided more details regarding the comparision of both the states, then it would have been a valid point.

Secondly, there was a survey conducted in the corporation and the workers preferred to live in an area which is not urban. Yet, there is nowhere in the argument that Corporateville is not an urban backdrop. Even the number of participants in the survey was not mentioned and the statistics were not discussed. Have all the people participated in the survey? If there are only 10 people who participated in the survey out of 100, then this could not be a valid statement for the argument. However, there is no mention of any such report and this weakens the argument further.

Thirdly, the writer alleges that Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg. However, the criterion which is used to compare was not provided. For instance, if Corporateville has many low income group citizens, the taxes would be lower, but one cannot say that it is a cheaper one. The cost of living might be higher than any other state but with lower taxes. Under this condition one cannot come to a conclusion that it is cheaper place. Had the author provided the tax constraints and statistics of the number of people living in the locality, it would have been a cogent argument.

The author also makes a point that Corporateville is a safe place to live. But the basis on which this statement is put forth was not provided. Is it guarded by a much stronger military and police force compared to Middleburg? Is it due to less citizen to cop ratio? There are no statements to substantiate this point.

To conclude, the author has made many points that Supercorp has made the best decision. Yet, there are no valid points regarding the criterion in which both the places were compared in the argument. There are also no supporting statistics to validate his unstated assumptions. The author must have provided the valid proofs for the statements he had made in order to make is argument a cogent one.