SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, SuperCorp clearly made the best decision

The author of the passage presents an argument that supports the rationale behind SuperCorp moving its headquarters to CorporateVille from Middelburg. Although he or she has made some excellent points, they fail to provide any required backing or evidence. They have merely made an extensive list of unstated assumptions.

Firstly they believe that the recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that it is a superior place to live. However, the surge could have been due to a variety of reasons which are not even closely related to the lifestyle of Corporateville. There is a high possibility that Corporateville has cheaper housing plans. It could also be that they have lesser congestion or better roads but is near the industry area and so its residents are exposed to harmful chemicals. The term " superior place to live" hasn't been adequately defined. One cannot say whether it is superior in financial terms or emotional terms or any other reason.

Moving on the author has cited a survey of employees that has concluded that employees prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Firstly the survey does not have the required information as to whether the employees prefer rural or suburban or any other type of area. Further, there is no mention of what kind of area Corporateville is. It could be the case, that Corporarteville is also predominately urban. Thus, it is unlikely to be palatable to the workers. Therefore, without having adequate information on Corporateville’s location and neighborhood, this correlation is largely unwarranted.

Next, the author makes another claim that Corporateville has lesser taxes and is therefore cheaper and safer. Talking about the first point, there is no necessity that lesser taxes correspond to cheaper goods. It is entirely possible that the base price of the good itself is higher and despite lesser taxes, it ends up being more expensive. Further lesser taxes and a place being safer have no correlation. Logically there are many factors to be considered before declaring a place safe. Some of them include how the police force is, how the night lighting of the town is etc. Moreover, the word "safe" is very ambiguous. Is it talking about the safety of the women or of the children or of families as a whole? Is it talking about safety from animals or from criminals? Without answering these questions one cant access the safety of a town.

Lastly, the author says Supercorp made the best decision. What is implied by the word "best" in the given context? Is it best in terms of the financial implications the move will have on the company, or is it best with regard to its employees?

The author has made various points that are ambiguous at best. They have no evidence to back these points nor have the points been written sharply. In order to bolster the argument, the author must provide adequate data with regard to the multiple claims made in the passage which can help in assessing or even forecasting if the decision is indeed the best one after knowing all the factors at play.