SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live then Middlesburg the home of SuperCorp s current headquarters Moreover Middle

At first glance, it may seem logical to agree with the author's argument that SuperCorp made the best decision by moving its headquarters to Corporateville. The evidence presented is the amount of people that have moved to Corporateville recently, the new destination is not in an urban area, and the new town has fewer taxes than the previous town. There are many flaws with this argument; therefore, I will examine the assumptions of the argument, explain how the argument depends on these assumptions, and explain what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Firstly, the author states that the recent surge in the number of homeowners proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg. The argument depends on this stated assumption because it's assuming that just because people have moved there recently that it is a better place to live by default. This isn't necessarily true, people could be moving there simply because they can't afford where they used to live. For example, currently many people in California are leaving to less desirable states because the cost of living and taxes are too high. If this proves unwarranted, many people within the company may end up leaving because they will be unhappy with where they are living.

Secondly, the prompt suggests that according to a company survey, most employees prefer to live in non-urban areas. To depend on the assumption that all of the workers have lived in cities that do not have an urban population before they've casted their vote would be a mistake. Many people may assume that they would prefer to live in a rural area rather than a busy city until they've tried it. If they end up not liking where they live, they may end up switching to another company.

Thirdly, the next assumption is that Supercorp has clearly made the best decision. It comes about this conclusion based on the fact that this new location area is a more affordable place to live due to having lower taxes and that it is 'safer'. While having to pay less taxes may benefit everyone in the company; on the other hand, we have no way of knowing for sure that Corporateville is safer than Middlesburg. The argument depends on this unstated assumption and if it proves to be unwarranted, the safety of the employees could be in jeopardy.

In summary, there are many holes within this argument. If things don't go as planned employees could end up leaving the company, switching to another company, or the employees could end up in an environment that's less safe than the last city.