"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

The Vice President of a company that builds shopping malls around the country suggests that Appian Roadways must be hired

instead of Good Intentions Roadways. The arguer has cited a number of reasons for the same. The arguer states that the

surface of a section of Route 101 which was paved by Good Intentions Roadways is cracked, while the Appian Roadways

paved Route 40 which is still in good condition. The arguer also states that Appian Roadways has purchased a paving machinery

and appointed a new quality control manager. The argument doesn't sound convincing since it is based on some unwarranted

assumptions.

A major lacuna in the argument is the comparison of Route 101 and 40 which are in different parts of the state. This

may amount to what may seem to be a weak analogy between Route 101 and 40. The arguer has assumed that all the

variables are comparable. The arguer has not given the details of climate, geography and population which is a major

factor in the maintenance of roadways. It is possible that the section of route 101 is cracked due to major rainfall

or some extreme weather conditions which is not in control of the Good Intentions Roadways. Another factor could be the

influx of people in that part of the state which could have caused an increase in the use of vehicles which in turn damaged

a section of road. This argument clearly fails to convince the reader since the arguer has not considered numerous other

factors which could have led to a badly cracked road.

The arguer writes in the memo that Appian Roadways purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery. The arguer has not mentioned

whether it will be used in future or if it is of good quality. It is possible that the Roadways have bought an

antique machinery which is supposed to be a show piece in the office. The arguer should have given some details about the

machinery.

Another assumption in the argument is the benefit of hiring a new quality-control manager. The arguer has assumed that

this will help in future. This newly appointed manager might not benefit if he lacks experience and is not thoroughly

knowledgable in this field. The reason for hiring is also not mentioned. It is possible that the old manager found

out some forgery in the company or the company finagled to earn profits.

The arguer makes a prediction on baseless evidence that the Appian access roads will not be required to repair for four years.

The argument is not logically sound. The evidence provided by the arguer does little to prove it. To substantiate the argument,

the arguer should have provided the details of the geography and weather conditions of the city.