In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports among their favorite recreational activities. The mason river flowing through the city...

Allocating more money to riverside recreational facilities on the premise that a clean up of Mason River would ensure an increase in the use of the river for water sports would be highly detrimental to Mason City.

Firstly, there is no proper information as to the quality of the survey that was carried out, nor was there any indication as to when the surveys were performed. A major assumption has been made: the surveys could be outdated or the surveys may not fully represent the residents of Mason City. Even if the Surveys are credible and recent, there is no assurance that the residents of Mason City will not lose interest in water sports in the future.

The argument states that there have been complaints regarding the quality of the river's water and its smell. However this doesn't mean the residents made the complaints solely because they were considering using the river for water sports. we certainly don't know that the bad quality and bad smell was the major factor that kept the residents from using the River for water sports. For all we know, the residents may have been considering using the river's water for domestic purposes. In the event that the residents want to use the river for domestic purposes, a clean up of the river would make the residents happy as their complaint has been attended to, but this doesn't mean that the residents of Mason City would consider using the river for water sports.

In conclusion, the prompt has provided little information as to the need of the residents of Mason City. There is no conclusive evidence that a clean up of the River would incite the City dwellers to participating in water sports and so allocating more funds will not be wise.