As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, our ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Humans will always need technology to make our lives better but this does not mean we would have to trade the capacity to think for ourselves.

Firstly, there is need to clarify the basis of comparison and what it means for humans to be able to think for themselves. In the days of old, man relied on the stars for navigation but the advent of the GPS system has precluded this tedious and inaccurate endeavor. Yes, the average man may have lost the ability to read the stars, but the final goal has been achieved in a much better way. Being able to use this GPS device will also require a certain level of cognition and as such, the users of such devices would still need to employ their thinking faculty. Hence, to say that the GPS device has precluded the user from thinking for himself is a very vague premise and cannot be taken with assertion.

The advancements and innovations in technology of today shows that man has indeed increased his ability to ponder new developments. If indeed we have lost the ability to think for ourselves, then the most innovative mobile device should still be the Nokia 3310 and we shouldn't have smartphones. The fact that more inventions spring out every year only means that we are getting better at thinking and that our technological creations are only an indication of how deeply we can think at a certain point in time.

In conclusion, an increase in the use of technology would serve us better and would also force us to think better so as to improve on the current technology.