In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports swimming boating and fishing among their favorite recreational activities The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits however and the city park department devotes little of i

People residing near the Mason River have been long complaining about the quality and smell of the river’s water. In response to the complaint, state has decided to clean the river and it is suggested that the city government provide more funding to the recreational activities near the Mason River as it is assumed that cleaning of the river would lead to increase in water sports in the river. However, there are a few questions that need to be addressed before concluding if the city government should actually allocate more budget to these activities near the Mason River.

First of all, is the sample of the survey even the true representation of the population residing near the Mason River? According to the survey results, water sports is the favourite sport of Mason City residents, but what if this survey was conducted for only a certain group of people associated with the water activities on a regular basis. Or it could also be the case that the survey was conducted at some other waterbody and not the Mason River and they actually enjoy the water sport there. If any of the above are true, then there is a fair chance that the survey presents skewed results.

Secondly, an argument is presented saying that even though, the Mason City residents have ranked the water sports as their favourite recreational activity, however, Mason River is rarely used for such activities. This maybe the case because the security near the Mason River is not up to the mark for the residents to feel safe for the water sports. There is an alternative, that the residents might prefer to travel to some other water body for a getaway, as this would ensure a long drive as well as recreational activity which would help in complete rejuvenation.

In conclusion, the city government must carefully assess the above two points in order to ensure that the cleaning of the river would definitely promote the water sports in the Mason River and then decide if they must increase their budget on such leisure activities.