As we acquire more knowledge things do not become more comprehensible but more complex and mysterious

Often times, we come across people saying maturity is not about age but about experiences. Things seem to be simplified in their initial stage when the understanding is less and as they start linking with each other and the connections starts building, that is when they seem strange and complicated. The above argument is disagreeable to certain extend and may be backed by three reasoning.

Firstly, as commonly quoted “A little knowledge is dangerous”. People who are known to only limited facts and experiences in life may be content with they but there will always be a gap in them living their life to the fullest. They would generally take decisions based on limited knowledge and experiences. For them, a streamlined and well thought life and everything outside their knowledge is a mystery. One cannot comprehend the gravity of any situation with incomplete knowledge and a degree of uncertainty would always remain.

Further, the more the merrier. Knowledge helps a person to strengthen his or her personality and gain a status in social setting. Knowledgeable people have a certain manner of handling situations. They learn from things, people and experiences around them. This makes them strong enough to deal with situations that they have never came across. They have broader perspective in life. Knowledge helps to streamline the thoughts and actions and hence, helps in solving the mystery of life.

Finally, apart from the above examples, there is another way of looking at this argument. It is always easier to deal with less in general. Everything including stress, work, travel, happiness in adequate amount is good. In other words, as commonly said excess of everything is bad. It is human nature to gain experience from everything around them. As one goes on acquiring more and more knowledge in life, things seem to get tougher. We start linking everything with every other thing and that is when complication begins. As an example, when a child is in the primary classes, they have limited number of subject and the scope of study is also restricted. But as the child starts going to junior high, subjects get further sub divided and scope get broader. This is when studies get complex and are tough to understand. Such is the case in life with everything.

To conclude, it would be fair to say that things become more comprehensible rather than complex and mysterious as we acquire more knowledge because of the above three arguments.