In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer here mentions/ explains about the ranking of the Mason river as the top rated for water sports like swimming, boating and fishing. The river was less used for these recreational activities; however, the city park department devotes little of its budget for maintenance. There have been complaints for years for residents regarding the quality of river water and its smell. Thus the author suggests the city government devote more money for cleaning the river water so that the use of the Mason rive for recreational activities would increase. How could the increase in money for maintenance would increase of river water? How often cleaning needs to be done?

Firstly, the argumentor mentions that the city park department devotes little of its budget for maintenance but the amount that was devoted was not mentioned anywhere. Also the period of the survey was not mentioned to explain when was the Mason river last used for recreational purpose, how did the water quality go down, who was responsible for regular check on quality, when was last survey taken?

Secondly there was no supporting statement to say to what extent was the river cleaned with the amount of money provided by the city park department. Even if we assume that the river was previously used every weekend for water sports then the cleanup was required every week so no survey data was provided to confirm on the periodical cleaning/maintenance of the river water or number of visits by the responsible department.

Thirdly there was no evidence to calculate what is the amount or the budget expected from the city government for the yearly maintenance of recreational facilities. This could be clearly figured only if we have the data on the budget that was already provided by city government, the frequency of the maintenance of the Mason river and the actual budget required for each time maintenance. We would also require the number of residents who have filed the complaints on the smell of the river and the list of people among the residents to find the frequent users of the river water.

In the view of the above, the argument has failed to convince the readers as how the increase in the budget of maintenance for the Mason river water from the city government would help in the efficient use and maintenance of the same. This would require proper numbers for amount and the headcount using the river for recreational sports. Therefore, the given statement is flawed and unconvincing with no proper data.