In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favourite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The author of this proposal to increase the budget for Mason City riverside recreational facilities offers an interesting argument but it does not make a cogent case for increased resources based on river use. In order to move forward on the proposal, more information and thought is required. It is understandable that the citizens would want a cleaner river but the argument presented is teeming with hole and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to an increase in the funding for riverside recreational activities.

The argument cites a survey that was conducted, which states that the residents of Mason City rank water sports, which includes, swimming, boating and fishing, among their favourite recreational activities. However, the scope and the validity of the survey is extremely unclear. For example, the survey could have asked the residents if they wanted water sports on the riverside or whether building a dam would be better. In such a case it is quite evident that the citizens would have preferred waterside recreational facilities instead of a dam. Also, the survey could have been five pages long but could include only a couple of questions about water sports. It is also unclear as to whether the survey was conducted on a wide range of people or only ones residing near the river. Hence there is proof of the fact if the survey is completely representative of the residents of Mason City or not.

A second flaw present in the given argument is that the citizens do not indulge in any kind of water sports though they mention in the survey that their preferred recreational activities include swimming, boating and fishing. The reason cited for the non use of the river by the residents is that the river quality is not good and the fact that it smells. But there is no apparent relationship between the usage of the river and its nature. Thus there is no way to ascertain whether the complaints made were by a majority of the citizens of Mason City or whether they were made by a few people who live near the Mason river. In order to strengthen his or her argument the author should have conducted a better organised survey asking numerous people as to why they do make use of the river's water.

Another defect in the argument given refers to the fact that if a clean-up of the river is organised, there is no guarantee that the residents will make use of the river. For instance, if the smell of the river is due to some factory on the riverside then a solution can be thought of to remove the stench of the river but if the smell is due to some natural factors like a kind of mineral that produces a noxious smell, then even if the park department would embark on a thorough cleaning spree, it would do no good as such. Therefore there is no connection between the usage of the river and the quality of the river.

A beautiful, safe and well maintained river will definitely add to the over all beauty of the entire city and it is the responsibility

of the park department as well as of the city government to ensure that the river is clean and well maintained. It will lead to an increase in tourism and also an increase in the revenue of the whole city. But the argument that has been put forth by the author to raise the funding for riverside recreational facilities is not a cogent and a practical one and will not lead to more money being devoted for the same cause.