In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The recommendation to the city government to devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities is based on weak and loosely connected arguments. The city goverment has already promised to devote money to cleaning up the river, and residents are certain to be pleased with this, however it does not imply that they are certain to want to swim, boat or fish in the river as is suggested. While residents have continuously complained about the stink and water quality of the river, there is no case made for them complaining about the lack of recreational facilities around the river.

As the city governement has decided to devoting money to cleaning up the river, this implies that the river is cleanable and it is the responsibility of the city goverment to maintain it. However it should be ascertained whether there are any enviromental factors which are effecting the river, such as being downstream of a factory which produces waste which flows into the river in which case the factory would be culpable. Additionally the river may be situated in an area which is high in sulfur or other smelly but natural compounds. The occurance of such factors would limit the ability of the city goverment to reduce the smell of the river, and should be ascertained before recommending that money is devoted to riverside facilities which may not even be popular after the clean up.

The nature of the survey given to the residents is unclear. Whilst Mason City residents list water sports as among their favourate recreational acitivites, it does not give the context in which they are among their favourate activities. It may be that when on holiday, it is a very common pastime to go boating or fishing, however when in the City, they may have little inclination to do that. Additionally, there may already be indoor facilities which meet some of the needs of water sports such as swiming, which provide a much more comfortable and peaceful setting to enjoy water sports as opposed to a river which runs through a city. In this case many residents would feel that riverside recreational facilities were suplerflous to their needs. In the situation of a survey, to many it may seem to hae little significance and would when given the opportunity express desideratum for additional facilities. However when it comes to actually using facilities, they are just as likely to continue using the options they habitually use. In addition to this, the weather the the city enjoys may not be suitable to using the river for water sports, no matter how often they do them whilst on holiday.

It is assumed that it is the responsibility of the city government to provide riverside recreational facilities. However if water sports are as popular as the survey suggests, this would be an ideal opportunity for an investor to provide and maintain facilities, giving it more attention and funding than the city government could do. This would be excellent for local business and would provide a higher quality of facilities increasing the chances of them being used by the residents.

The arguent given for the city governemnt devoting money to facilities which have no solid evidence as to why they may be used lacks any cogency. Further investigation into the weather, the source of the smell and the true inclination of residents to use facilities if they were to be made available must be undertaken before the recommentation can be taken seriously