Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

At first glance, it sounds convincing that failure in migration has caused arctic deer to decline in population. To make this connection, the argument above assumes that global waring has caused sea ice in Canada’s arctic region to melt, which has led into arctic deer’s obstacles in migration. However, I think these assumptions are full of holes and require our careful examination.

This argument implies that the arctic sea ice in Canada is melting under the influence of global warming. Even though it is true in general that global warming can result in melted ice, it is hard to say that Canada’s arctic ice sea is indeed under its influence. Valid evidence is necessary to prove that the ice in the specific region where the deer reside is in the process melting. Even if the ice which used to bridge the islands is disappearing, may the deer still be able to use the unmelted ice body to travel among islands? The melting rate is also needed to help determine how fast the ice is disappearing, which can help us to decide whether the arctic deer can still cross the sea via ice. Before we can find out whether the arctic ice is disappearing at a speed of which will hinder deer’s migration, it is unconvincing to purport that this actually affects deer’s population.

Also, this argument excludes any other factors that can potentially influence the deer’s population and blames the migration patterns as the culprit, which, I find, is more of a pretext for the hunters. Does unable to migrate to different places will cause the deer to decline in population? If the ice melts in the arctic region, more vegetation may grow on the newly exposed land, which will provide the deer wit more food. If this is the case, the deer may not even to migrate to sustain. Besides, there are many other factors we need to take into consideration as well. First, one factor the inlfuence the deer’s population is human hunting. Hunters’ over-gaming can cause the deer to decrease drastically. It could aslo be that the changes in enviroment, caused by global warming or not, may intrigue disease that causes empademic deaths in deer population. It could aslo be there is an uneven ratio between male and female deer that may influence the regular breeding pattern and lead into a decrease in population. Proir to considering and excluding all these potential factors, it is insufficient to conclude unable to migrate is why the deer are decreasing in number.

Therefore, even though there may be some connections and correlations between the deer’s failure in normade among the arctic islands and their decrease in population, it is a little to hasty to treat their relation as cause and result. To strength this argument, it is necessary to thoroughly examine the factors discussed above.