In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The argument stating that the city government should devote more money in the budget to riverside recreational facilities is based on several undue assupmtions and is not found to be persuasive.

The first thing is that the argument assumes that the reason why the Mason river was rarely used for water sport activities was that it was dirty and that cleaning it up would expedite its use for those activities. It might be that the river wasn't used for these pursuits because of any other reasons, maybe it wasn't safe or their was a constraint on the amount of water that a city could use and so the city park department also allocated lesser budget for the maintainence of these activities. The passage only states that people liked water sports a lot and they might be involved in these recreational activities eleswhere. It isn't stated anywhere that they were dependent on river Mason for these activities. They only had a problem with its cleanliness and there are no evidences which would prove that the use of river water for water sports would increase. Had there been a clue which would interlink the importance of use of water from this particular river and growth in water sports activity as a result of this, the argument would have been more persuasive.

Even if we assume that the use of river water would increase for theses sport activities, the passage establishes that the state had announced plans to clean up the Mason river yielding to complaints of residents about the bad water quality and smell of the river. But, we cannot say when this task of cleaning up the river would be completed merely on the basis of announcement of plans. It may happen that other priorities turn up and this initative gets delayed for a very long time. In that case, it would not be fruitful do devote more money in the budget for these activaties. Only if some data supporting the implementation of this plan and timeline for this undertaking would have been provided, the argument could build a more convincing case.

The argument is hence flawed as it is based on several unwarranted assumptions and doesn't provide a very clear idea about why the use of river water would increase if the cleanliness initiative would be completed.