In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities

It is stated that,in surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities.But it hasn't mentioned that how many residents were taken that survey and what percents of residents are interested in recreational activities & what percent are not interested.

And it is mentioned that the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities.And there are so many complaints from years regarding the quality of the river water and the river's smell.so does it means the quality & smell of river is because of less maintenance or any other factories or some other reasons.If any problem identified then government or residents as some groups can take action towards the cause if they are really interested in water activities.

In the final statement,author has mentioned the city government should devote more money in for riverside recreational facilities.But as there is corruption in leaders nobody knows how much money will come to correct place and how it'll be utilized.

Conclusively,the argument seem clear at beginning but is flawed with many stated or unstated assumptions.