"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

The planning department of the city claims that we should use area, where are currently unoccupied, for establishing industries. To justify this recommendation, the author cites that the following facts. (1) Establishing several factories in Transopolis affect the rate of crimes positively. (2) Building industries in Transopolis were beneficial because of increasing tax revenues. (3) We can use the area, where have some unoccupied house, for building factories. Scrutiny each of these facts, however, reveal that none of them lend credible supports to the recommendation.

First, base on the fact that building factories were successful in the Transopolis, the author infers that factories can be functional. However, it is not necessarily the case. it is entirely possible that Transopolis have special facilities that anther city has not them. Indeed, Transopolis have many large unemployment juveniles that can work in the factory, while the scenario can be different in another city. In addition, the factories can increase the tax revenue, but the author does not mention that their pollution can be very high. In this way, the local government should allocate more budget to alleviate the environmental issue. Without considering this possible scenario, the author cannot justifiably conclude that building factories are beneficial for cities.

Second, the author relies on the assumption that establishing factories in Transopolis decrease the rate of crimes. However, it is quite possible that declining crimes in Transopolis were due to other factors. In fact, it is possible a great large of people move from the city after building factories, so the rate of crimes was decreased. Although common sense informs me that this relationship exists, the author must provide clear evidence of cause-and-effect relationships in this matter.

In the third place, the author assumes that we can use the area in the city that there are some housing and department, which are unoccupied. It is possible soon the demand for house increased because of the increasing the population. Hence, these house and department are not unoccupied for a long time. In short, since the argument relies on the limited information, I cannot take the author final conclusion seriously.

In sum up, the argument is flawed logically and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the recommendation, the author should provide the more information about cities facilities. In order to evaluate better the arguments, it would be better to know about all effective factors on decreasing crimes.