The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

This expert from the planning department of the city of Transopilis contains the recommendation to convert a residential area outside the city to an industrial area. Although this recommendation seems plausible based on the fact that it yield significant results years ago, certain evidences have to be provided so the evidence can be properly evaluated. The result of this evaluation would determine if the recommendation would be accepted by the city council.

The recommendation assumes that the constructed factories where responsible for the decline in crime rate and increased tax revenue based on the claim that these effects were observes after. A major evidence to be provided is that there is a correlation between the decrease in crime rate, increased tax revenue and the industrialization of the freeway. The outcome at the time may have serendipitous or due to an unconsidered factor such as improved security or better economic policies which were available then. The failure to provide a causal-effect link between these effect implies that this recommendation would not yield the same effects now. This weakens the argument upon which the recommendation is based.

Furthermore the argument bases it premise on a program which was carried out 10years ago. There is no assurance that economic forces which were at play then are still applicable today. The city is certain to have undergone various degrees of changes in the last few years; the residents would have change; changes the market forces; changes in the nature working policies of factories; changes in the security levels in the city. As such there should be an evidence to show that the Transopilis city 10 years ago is the same Transopilis city today. Otherwise there is no assurance that the recommendations would yield the same result, it may even yield the opposite of the past outcomes.

Also, the recommendation also assumes that the location chosen for the urban planning program does not affect the outcome of the recommendation. The area used 10 years ago was located in the freeway mostly like at the centre or the city. This could be responsible for the positive outcome of the past industrialization outcome. A change in location is certain to affect the outcome of the recommendation. E.g., the new location is outside the city, evidence should be provided which assures that factories would be interested in a location outside the factory. This would determine the possibility of industries being constructed there.

In conclusion, the recommendation is entire built on the premise that this new recommendation would provide the same result as the past program. However possible this is, the major evidence to be provided has to show the reproducibility of the program. Failure to prove this voids the recommendation and argument on which it is based.