Ten years ago as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway Subsequently several factories were constructed there crime rates in the area d

According to the planning department of the city of transopolis, as they have adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway, and it has revitalized the city, and now they are planning to do the same in the opposite side of the city as it has been observed in a declining residential area. In my opinion the argument is resting on questionable assumptions, suffers from vaguely defined terms and contains numerous logical fallacy that is making the argument weak.

At the very outset, the author is correlating the city of transopolis one side area to the opposite side, but did not provide any sufficient evidence which can validate that the correlation is solid. For instance, it may by the case that the geographic location of the both area is far different, so what has played out on the previous location may not be valid in other area. On the other hand, the author mentioned the area that they had acted the urban renewal plan is consist of freeway, so it can be inferred that the location where the urban renewal plan is executed had a very well-structured roads, which may attracted people to migrate on that area in contrast maybe other side of the city does no consists of this facility. So the comparison does not hold water.

Secondly, the author has mentioned about the crime rate which seems vague. Here the author is assuming that the reason of crime rate has decreased because of the factories that is established there, but the author has failed to draw any correlation with that. It may happen that the crime rate has declined for some other reason. The author did not provide any further evidence that the crime rate has decreased because of the urban renewal program which is weakening the argument. On the other hand the author is comparing a decade with the present, it may happen now on the opposite side the crime rate is already declined, and no need to think of that.

Thirdly, the author has mentioned about decline of the resident, and mentioned that some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, It may happen that people are leaving the area for other reason, may they do not have proper communication method, in contrast previously mentioned area has a freeway, so maybe because of this reason people are moving and maybe the urban renewal program will not make it revive which is a flaw in this argument.

Fourthly, in the recommendation it is mentioned that the people who are living now In that area, and will be displaced by adaptation of industrial use will be relocate, but why would the people will move as some of the people will want to stay in their ancestor place and it may happen that they will go for protest. Author did not provide any further evidence about this.

In conclusion, the recommendation from the planning department of the city possess may flaws which is weakening the argument, in order to solidify author claim, the author need to provide the evidence that the area can be comparable, and a decade does not change anything yet. Otherwise the author evidence is totally depending upon assumptions and posits unwarranted.