Since those issues of Newsbeat magazine that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest-selling issues over the past three years, the publisher of Newsbeat has recommended that the magazine curtail its emphasis on politics to focus more

Because of a low number of sales of issues that featured political news, the publisher of the Newsbeat magazine recommends to an emphasis on economics and personal finance issues and asserts that recent survey showed that great number of readers are interested in economic issues. Meanwhile, the editor of Newsbeat rejects this purpose and states few magazines offer extensive political coverage anymore. However, the statements of the publisher and editor are untenable and based on shallow assumptions. Due to the presence of acute fallacies in the claims, their arguments appear to be feeble.

To begin with, the publisher of the magazine does not illuminate on a recently conducted survey in a detailed manner. Without scrutinizing the number of people, area of a survey conducted, age-range of people involved in the survey, the publisher cannot simply presume to emphasize economics and personal finance in his magazine would increase the sales of the magazine. Furthermore, the publisher states that the survey was conducted among the readers of general interest magazine and takes for granted that the case would be the same for Newsbeat magazine as well. She fails to ponder that is the survey done by another magazine applicable to Newsbeat magazine.

The publisher sounds imprudent to claim that including issues about personal finance would augment the sales of Newsbeat magazine. This is just the publisher's groundless assumption and has no relevant evidence to support this assumption. Maybe the customers of Newsbeat magazine read about personal finance from other magazines present in the market. Or the case may be they read on personal finance through the online newspaper. Had the publisher conducted a thorough survey on costumers about personal finance and mentioned the data in the argument, it would augment the credibility of the conclusion.

The Newsbeat's editor denies the purpose of the publisher of focusing on economic and personal finance asserting the point that only a 'few' magazine cover vast political coverage. But he does not mention the exact number of magazines covering political news. It can be the case that few magazines that cover political news extensively print the superior quality of news than that is covered by Newsbeat magazine. This case, if true, would assist to weaken the publisher's conclusion.

It can be concluded that since the conclusion of the publisher and the editor rely largely on uncorroborated evidence, they must contemplate on various factors mentioned above to conclude whether to prioritize economic issues or political issues or personal finance in the Newsbeat magazine.