Topic: The following is from a memo from the advertising director of the Super screen Movie Production Company.According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any

It is widely accepted that advertisement is one of important factors in the sales of a product. There is almost no single company in this world that neglect advertisement for their marketing strategy. A memo written by advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company tries to convince the company to allocate higher portion of budget in the following year for advertising. However, there are some fundamental questions need to be addressed by the advertising director to strengthen his/her recommendation.

The first question is whether there was increase in the number of film produced by another company last year. The author stated that the report showed a decline in the number of people watching their film last year and without mentioning the possibility of any external factors like competition to be one of the causes. As a supply of films increase, every film in the market will receive lower share of spectators if it is assumed there is no increase in the number of movie-goers. If the answer of this answer is yes, then there is no strong foundation to push the company to raise the advertising budget.

Another question is whether the increase in the quality is better compared to the increase in the quality of other companies' movies. While the quality of the company's movies might increase, the competitors in the business might also improve their quality in a higher level. It is natural for each company to provide a better film each year, but the winner will be the one who improve themselves the most. The author needs to find the answer to these questions by doing a research comparing qualities of movies from different companies in series of year. If it is proved that the level of quality improvement of Super Screen Movie Production Company exceed another company, then there is a sound reason to include the assumption of the quality into the recommendation.

It is also essential to answer what the exact amount of positive reviews is. While it is mentioned that the percentage of positive reviews has been increased, it is not clear whether there is an increase in the number of amount of positive reviews. A 90 percent critic out of 100 critics means the film has 90 positive critics, while 95 percent out of 20 critics means only 19 critics. Ninety positive critics for sure had a bigger impact than 19 critics. The author has to address this question clearly to provide better evidence to the company.

And finally, the author need to need to address what was the level of effectiveness of past year's advertising campaign. While advocating for higher budget in advertising, the author might want to consider ineffectiveness of the advertisement to be the cause of failure. If the cause of the drop in sales is the bad performance of the advertising agency, there is no reason to increase the budget as it will not give any positive impact to the sales. And if that is the case, the better solution might not to increase to budget but to revisit the past advertising strategy.

In conclusion, it is often an overly simplified assumption to say that the higher budget of advertising will generate higher sales. Money in advertising is not the panacea for the decline of sales. The author needs to address all mentioned questions above to ensure that the assumption is not based on a false assumption. Providing stronger evidences and data will enable the author to display clearly the position of the problem and the validity of the proposed suggestions.