A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is suggested that every students within a nation should have the same lesson they learn at their primary and secondary level school. This means that a student at school ABC will learn exactly the same Math with that at school XYZ. The same goes to Biology, physics, and all other subjects. Only until they enrolled at university, they will start learning particular and tailored subject to their interest. If applied, there are some advantages to this policy. However, several serious drawback need to be considered otherwise the nation's education system will be trapped in a gigantic loophole.

The main advantage of this policy is it is relatively easy for the nation to administer, monitor and control the progress of the education in each school in the country. Having a single standard will eliminate the burden of having to individually assess each school curriculum and the extent that curriculum is effectively applied. This is especially true in a country with hundreds of millions of citizen like the United States of America where hundreds of thousands of schools are exist today. A simple calculation will show that individually assessing each school will be arduous task.

Another advantage is mainly related with nation's vision of education. Once a nation have a vision to achieve in next 20 or 30 years, it has to instill and incorporate those idea to the national curriculum to be adopted by all primary and secondary education institution. It will be more effective and efficient if this idea is realized by making it compulsory for every and each single school to adopt the already prepared, and approved, curriculum. In addition this will ensure that everyone in the nation, assumed they have learned in school, understand the vision of the nation and having exactly the same ground to move forward together.

Nevertheless, there are severe implication to these policy. Requiring all students in a nation to learn the same thing will eliminate the potential of uniqueness that we are expecting to see from our children from different part of the nation. Some children might not be able to excel in the field that they are good at since they forced to leave what they like to learn what they have to learn. This will mar their motivation to learn and will deteriorate the nation's innovation in the future. Some children might also learn faster than the other students, but they cannot move faster since they still have to stick to same sets of lessons.

Yet the overarching disadvantage to this policy is that many schools, in their inability to catch up with the required standardized curriculum, might fail to survive as the government deemed them to be incapable of adhering to the standard. Some schools might have their strengths, but also their weakness; many times their weakness is related to their inability to provide teaching staff who are capable to relay the lesson within the recognized standard. It will be worse in the case of Physics or Biology where the school is required to provide a standard lab. Failing to do so might cause to the closure of the school. And when a school is closed, it is not only the teaching staff who suffer, but the community, and the whole nation.

Having considered the above advantages and disadvantages, requiring all students to learn the same curriculum will have an adverse effect. It will be wiser for the regulator to give the options for schools to either using the prepared standardized curriculum or building their own sets of learning system by paying attention to the uniqueness and the available resources of their students and schools.