Traffic Problem

The author of the letter concludes that in order to solve the problem of traffic during rush hours, a bicycle lane rather than another vehicle lane should be added to Blue Highway. The arguer cites the increase in traffic hours on Green highway even after a lane was added to the road. In addition, the claim is based on the evidence that residents of the area love using bicycles. It is easy to think that the residents will use bikes cause they habitually use them, however more evidence is needed to prove this claim. The argument rests of unjustified assumptions that Bicycles will definitely reduce the traffic problem, the workers will cycle to work, therefore unless more evidence is provided to justify the claims, the argument remains unpersuasive.

The arguer suggests the use of bicycles as a remedy to the traffic conundrum. True, bicycles are a convenient mode of transport. Rarely do bicycles cause traffic. To back the claim, the author provides evidence that the residents are keen on bicycles. yet, we do not know how exactly the bicycles are used. Bicycles have many purposes. They are sometimes used for leisure, for sports, as a tool for exercising and as a method of transport. Data is not provided on what exactly the residents use the bicycles for. The argument can be strengthen by showing statistics that show that the residents mainly use bicycles as a mode of transport. Inversely, if statistics are to show people cycle mainly for leisure, the assumptions on which the argument rests will be invalidated. In order to set the argument on a more sound footing, the author must provide evidence , in form of statistics showing that indeed the residents use bicycles primarily as a mode of transport and there are likely to use it to travel to work.

Secondly, the argument rests of the assumption that a Bicycle and not an extra car lane is needed. In validating the argument, the arguer cites the extension of green way lane and argues that the problem was not solved. However, the cause or the factors surrounding the situation are not known. traffic is caused by many factors. These may include an increase in the number of cars, bad driving habits by drivers. Therefore, It could be that the number of cars increased with the expansion of the road. it is possible that the situation could be different along blue high way. No evidence is also provided that bicycles will not cause traffic jams. With an introduction on a bicycle lane, a large number of people may buy cycles and cause congestion too. In addition to that, places of work can be too far away meaning that peopler will still use roads instead of cycling for a large distance. In order to validate the claims, the arguer must demonstrate that the distance from the residency to the site of work is within a cycling distance.

In conclusion, the arguments rests on the assumption that bicycles will definitely solve the traffic problem, and that a cycle lane and not an extra car lane is needed. In order to strengthen the arguments, the author must provide stats to prove that residents will use bicycles as a mode of transport to work