Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively

In every level of education, there exists different types of students. These students have different abilities, and so require different approaches to learning. some students take every information provided by the teacher, while other students, filled with curiosity, ask questions about the subject. The prompt recommends that students always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively. In my opinion, i totally agree with this suggestion and argue that students should be encouraged to ask questions for two main reasons.

To begin, questioning improves critical thinking. One of the main goals of educational institutions is to improve the critical reasoning skills of students. Asking questions is the main indicator of a mind that is thinking critically. And it is known that the most developed countries have leaders and majority of the population with high critical reasoning skills. For instance, in China in 1992, the education system was recently redesigned to a way that promotes students to ask questions about what is taught to them. Prior to the change, passive learning was the widely practiced system. China was then classified as a developing nation. Due to lack of critical reasoning skills, the country suffered lack of good calibre leaders and faced with many challenges. However, after the inception of the new education system, which focused on developing critical reasoning skills, the country has seen tremendous development. China is now classified as a developed country. It is also lauded for having high calibre leaders and a high critical reasoning population. The above example illustrates that students asking questions definitely improves their critical reasoning skills and this should be encouraged as it is beneficial for the development of a country.

History also shows us that questioning led to inventions and discoveries. inventions are new products formed. Most of the inventions were birthed as a result of the inventors curiosity. They constantly asked questions about the subjects they studied. Albert Einstein, regarded as one of the greatest inventors, invented the light bulb in 1803. Before the invention Albert, studied physics and constantly asked his teachers about what was being taught. In trying to find answers to his questions, he then invented the light bulb. Another example of an inventor is sir Isaac Newton. Isaac Newton formulated the newton laws, which have positively shaped the world today. Isaac, like Einstein formulated the renowned formulas by satisfied his curiosity. Issac, a student at oxford university constantly questioned theories brought out by the teacher. One of the professors encouraged Issac to read more to satisfy his curiosity and find answers to his questions. In the process he made significant discoveries. It is easy to see that, Isaac and Einsteins discoveries were made possible by constantly asking questions in their respective classes. If they were passive learners, their inventions would not have been possible. Therefore, asking questions by students should be

encouraged as it is the driving force to inventions and discoveries.

In conclusion, students asking questions improves the students critical reasoning skills and also is the main driving force of many notable inventions and discoveries. Therefore, it should be strongly encouraged.