The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built.

In a letter to the editor of West Lansburg News, it is stated that in order to preserve the region's biodiversity and to ensure the healthy environment, the Western Lansburg council should not allow the access road to be built along the edge of the wetlands. The proponents of this letter has come to the conclusion that, building infrastructures and access roads on the coastal wetlands would bring significant decline on the population of tufted groundhog based on the decline seen in the population of sea otter on Neighbouring Eastern Carpenteria which had a similar sanctuary. However, before this recommendation can be properly assessed, three questions needs to be properly addressed.

First of all, are the biodiversity of Neighbouring Eastern Carpenteria in 1978 comparable to that of the biodiversity of West Lansburg in 2004? In other words, can it be assured that if there was a decline in population due to infrastructures in Neighbouring Eastern Carpenteria in 1978, then there would also be decrease here in West Lansburg? It may be possible that there were various other factors in Eastern Carpenteria that affected the population , and that may not be present here in West Lansburg. Further, there may be a possibility of having a significant discrepancy on biodiversity of these two places. So, either of these arguements have a merit, than the conclusion that was drawn in the letter would be significantly weakened.

Secondly, the presence of tufted groundhog was in abundance in ancient times, but is there similar presence of tufted groundhog now in 2019? From 2004 to now, there has been several changes in the population of various wildlife with increasing adveristies in the environment. So, there can be a chance that the population of tufted groundhog may have shifted to another place or have already extinct from that place till now. So, a proper evaluation of the demographics of those tufted groundhogs should be done before deciding whether the council should allow the road to be built or not. If there is no any presence of tufted groundhogs right now, there will be no point of not allowing the road to be built in the coastal wetlands, and would significantly weaken the conclusion of the letter.

Also, the fact that whether the road would be built with some considerations that would not deplete the population of tufted groundhogs should also be considered. Now, with modern technology and advancements in science, developments of infrastructures can be done in accordance to the ecosystem, so whether this project of building road encompasses any of those methods, which would bring no any harm to the existing population of tufted groundhogs should also be assessed. For instance, by knowing that a dam would bring substantial affect in the population of fishes that goes downstream of upstream for spawning, the engineers designed a fish ladder in such a way that, the dam would now no longer affect the population of fishes. So, is there any chances of such measures that are applied in the process of developement should also be seen. If so, then the conclusion of not allowing the road based on the assumed hypothesis to be built would be significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the arguement ,as it stands now, do not seem plausible. For the recommendation to be evaluated properly, proper assessment of these things are to be done. If the letter writer can answer these problems, then only a certain conclusion can be reached and proper suggestion can be made in regard to the building of the road.