The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Proper judgement can be done only with disinterested mind. In fact, when the person who is judging someone that he or she already knows, there can be some fallacy in the judgement. The prompt suggests that the real talent of the musician can only be properly discerned when the fame of that "popular" musician is not officious. In my honest opinion, I mostly agree with this suggestion and argue that people who needs to assess the real talent of the musician should not be bewildered by the fame of the musician, as such could deviate the assessment process.

To begin, when a song is being published by a musician, the number of audience at that time, who would listen to that song would be surely affected by the popularity of that particular musician. But, when the talent is to be assessed, at that time when the song is just released, the accurate assessment cannot be determined. For instance, If we judge a song by Ed Sherean right now, we would be predilected by the number of fans or followers he have, and our judgement would definitely would be a biased one. But, if we judge Bob Dylan right now, we would not be interfered by the fame he possesses, and an honest assessment is possible. Thus, we cannot properly judge a musician right when they are at their prime, but the same can be done once the popularity or the fame is reduced.

Further, when a popular musician brings his composition out, people go wild about it. This would affect the process of assessing the real talent as their are counter agreement saying, "If he wouldn't have talent, how would he make this large fan following?" But if the composition remains evergreen and the upcoming generations also opts to listen the composition of the deceased musician, their needs no other proof of his/her talent. For intance, the Blues and the Jazzs musician of 60s are yet being loved and enthusiastically listened to. This shows the talent they possessed. But, their might be some random songs which once was a global hit, and topped the trending list on youtube, but everyone now has forgotten about it. This assessment also shows, if we would have judged that musician of random hit at that particular time, we might hold some predilection, but now, seeing the present scenario where everyone have forgotten that musician, it is easy to judge the talent of that particular singer, whereas the musicians who composed the Blues or the Jazzs.

Although, I mostly agree with the prompt given here, I would definitely say, it would not take time as long as mentioned, "dead for several generations" to bring proper assessment of the talent. Every singer has their eras, or most precisely decades, and once their decades of prime is over, the musician can be assessed with their talent. For instance, the Pink Floyd , to assess the talent of Pink Floyd , we need not wait for the generations to pass or the death of the musicians. The talent of those incredible musicians can be assessed seeing how people of multiple generations are loving those musicians.