Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing

viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting

views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

The claim saying that any argument's value can be determined only effectiveness in convincing someone with an opposing viewpoint might be considered reasonable. In some cases, it is true that only when forced to defend against an opposing views and doubts can an arguments' value be understood.

This might seem reasonable in many issues. For example, it is easy dismiss someone arguing that earth is flat as fool or an idiot. But only when we start arguing with such people can we understand why we do not believe that earth is flat. We might cite satellite images and round trips around the earth made by people to contend that earth is a sphere. But flat-earths might come up with alternative explanations to all out arguments. Then we might come up with an argument which completely convinces us and the flat-earths why earth is sphere. Only then can we realize how important it is that earth be sphere and not flat.

Another issue where arguments and counter-arguments complement each other is philosophy. In philosophy, arguments and counter-arguments are encouraged above anything else. Let's take a philosophical debate about whether humans are inherently good or evil. If I believe that humans are inherently good, only when I argue my position with someone who believes that humans are inherently evil, can I realize that it might be incomplete to say that humans are either completely good or completely evil.

But even when it comes to politics, trying convince someone with a differing ideology might lead strengthening of one's own beliefs. People are free to side with whatever ideology or political party they deem to be good. But only when arguing with someone with differing ideology can someone come to appreciate their own. If I am a liberal, I would never solve a problem that requires a more politically centered approach if I refuse to listen to the conservationist point of view of the issue. So, If someone decides to stay away from opposing points of view and strictly adheres to their own point of view, it can lead to biased, extremist and incorrect political decisions.

In these ways, I cannot imagine a situation where not listening to doubts and contrasting viewpoints can lead to a sound argument..In summary, I completely agree with the claim and the reason that people must listen to opposing viewpoints and come to appreciate their viewpoints.