"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as

The homeowner’s letter claims that Adams realty is very much superior then Fitch realty and hiring Adams realty will help selling his friends house very quickly. The conclusions are based on unwarranted assumptions. Primarily, by comparing the number of people working for both the realties and their revenue over the last year is not sufficient to make such claims.

Firstly, the homeowner states that Adams realty has 40 real estate agents while Fitch realty has only 25 agents, many of whom work only part-time. This data alone is not sufficient to state superiority of Adams realty. It might be possible that the agents working for Adams are not as proficient as compared to Fitch realty and thus they need to hire more number of agents. A proper look at the projects handled by a single agent in both realties could make matter much more clear.

Secondly, letter states that the last year’s revenue of Adams realty was twice that of Fitch realty and Adams home sales averaged at $168000, compared to Fitch’s $144000. Now nowhere in the letter the sources of this figures have been mentioned and therefore can’t be completely reliable. Let’s say that these are from a reliable source still it does not account for any kind of superiority of one realty over other as the data is only based on last year. It might be possible that for the last year the number of projects handled by Fitch realty were much more and the projects were of varied values then that by Adams realty and thus could have resulted in less averaging. Moreover, it might also be possible that last year Adams realty got bigger projects but were in very few number and that accounted for high revenues and more average.

Thirdly, the homeowner comparing the time taken to sell his house 10 years ago by hiring Fitch realty and doing the same by hiring Adams realty and further making conclusion about Adams realty being better at its job is baseless and unwarranted. Things might have changed over past 10 years and handling to same sale to Fitch realty could have resulted in the same outcome. It is quite possible that real estate market was very down 10 years ago and economy was at a very low point. Without considering such circumstances, jumping to conclusions is not credible.

In sum, by only doing proper research about both the realties and what kinds of projects were handled in what amounts and considering the economic conditions 10 years ago, one could satisfactorily compare both the realties. The homeowner has done none of the above and thus his conclusions are not credible.