Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The speaker claims that in any field may it be politics, government, education or business stepping down of its leader after five years is beneficial. The reason stated for the above claim is revitalization through new leadership can lead to a path of success and advancement. I agree with the speaker’s assertions and believe that for any field to make progress a new leadership with new prospective is helpful in many ways.

In today’s world where everything is changing continuously, relying on a single leader with old prospective and ideas can do more harm to the field instead of any growth. Five years is a long time and a lot of changes can occur during this period. A fresh leadership could help in many ways. For example, a leader leading government may not be able to connect to its public anymore because their might be a change in the way how people think. In such cases, a new leadership with new and fresh ideas can concur to the needs of people in a much better way which can helps in maintaining the government and also results in progress of the country. A company who has no norms of changing its leader may not last very long or it may remain stable but without any new ideas it can never compete in this ever growing and changing world. A fresh prospective of everything always helps in growth.

Sometimes followers may not be satisfied by their leader at all and they want the necessary change required and therefore this kind of rule can bring the change they need. For example, a nation’s public might not be satisfied at all by the current ruling government and it has a chance to change the current government every five years for their and their nation’s betterment.

Revitalizing through new leadership obviously have many benefits but there will be a few minuses like lack of experience. An experienced leader can handle a critical situation in a much better way than the new leader. The chances of him erring over matters is quite less and the body under him might run more smoothly.

In sum, the benefits of new leadership and revitalization has more benefits and it clearly outweighs the few benefits of unchanged leadership.