Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent s

According to the statement, the KICK radio station manager was inspired by a new kind of program which he want to add to the KICK's programs. It says that in another place Rockville ,there is another radio station called WCQP which added the number of call-in advice programs two years ago. It was proved this increasing worked locally because the fact that more audience were listening to the radio. Moreover the national survey showed that many audiences feel like this kind of programs. In my opinion, the KICK manager's idea sounds great while there are some facts I should reexamine carefull and point out the problems.

First of all, there is no obvious relevance mentioned by the author between the two radio stations , which means we do not know the conditon of the two stations. Whether they are comparable still troubles us.Maybe the WCQP is a news radio station which is professional at discussing topics with audiences meanwhile the KICK is popular with the music fans in Rock & Roll. Or to say there was just a host who was good at talk show join the WCQP ,and the audiences were favor of talking with him. I believe the manager should find out these facts to make futher descision.

Secondly, the diffrences between the two places and the nation obsecure us the conditons of local and nationwide. the author does not tell us the similarity between the two palces, Rockville and Medway, which is significant in the value of referrence. As there may be a vast difference between the two places. E.g. maybe the Rockville is full of factory workers who are not busy after work and eager to talk with sombody else , the DJ of the radio station is a wise choice. On ther other hand , the Medway could be a high technology city where people who like radio programs listen to them only on the way they drive to work.

I believe the manager also need to compare the main audiences somposition of KICK. likewise, the national survey shows the people all over the country feel like the call-in advice programs, but this kind of survey is much more general which can not represent local situation, so the survey has no value of referrence too unless the KICK is a Internet radio the author does not tell us ,however.

Thirdly ,the time and the development of the two radio stations. Because it was two years ago that the WCQP added the new programs, we don't know whether the audiences still like them now, as the situation is developing , no one will make warrant that this kind of program will also get praised by the audiences of KICK.

In conclusion, before the KICK manager make descision, he should make wide survey to find out the fact whtether the program is available in the radio station.