"Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20% increase in visitors. In addition, local banks reported a steep rise in the number of new business loan applications they received this year. The amount of tax money collected by Seaside Vista has also increased, allowing the town to announce plans to improve Seaside Vista's roads and bridges. We recommend building a similar golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg. We predict that this project will generate additional tax revenue that the city can use to fund much-needed public improvements."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that Brindluberg city should start building a municipal golf and resort hotel like as the seaside city in order to absorb more tourists and benefit from tax and revenue to improve public facilities. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question should be addressed.

First, the author attributes that based on a report the seaside vista tourism has increased 20 percent during two years ago. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether the information of two years ago is helpful for raising tourism industry. One point that should be considered is that the report could not be reliable and accurate owing to the fact that it offers data of two years ago and there is a possibility that those data became obsolete. Indeed, maybe the tourism industry increased just during those years and then decline in next years in seaside vista.

The author also points out that the amount of tax collected by seaside has increased dramatically, which provides an opportunity for the city to improve roads and bridges. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if an increase in tax collected by the city could support the improvement of the public facilities. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that although collected tax and revenue might be helpful for the city, it could not be enough to support public improvements like roads and bridges. Indeed, the tax increased during two years ago and the author does not provide any information about next years. What if the collected tax diminish since then? What if the number of tourists decreased drastically? Moreover, building new roads and bridges need a substantial amount of budget for maintenance and repair, what if they could not support it by the tax collected?

Finally, as set forth by the author many banks announced a rise in loan applications by businesses during that year. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if an increase in loan applications is related to an improvement of the city by tourism. One point that should not go unnoticed is that maybe businesses apply for the loan just for their own work and in order to run new businesses. In fact, the author does not show any statistic or information about the received loan by businesses whether they spent them for tourism or not. Alongside that, the banks just announced they receive applications and it is not clear whether banks gave the loan to applicants or not.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions, having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.