The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company’s president.

“In an effort to improve our employees’ productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees’ Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees’ Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits.”

In this argument, the speaker recommends that in order to increase the productivity and overall profits of the Climpson Industries the company must install software to prevent their employees to use Internet while at work by electronic monitoring of employees Internet usage. The speaker also cites that a recent national survey found that the majority of workers with access to the Internet at work had used company computers for personal or recreational activities, such as banking or playing games. The speaker also states that using electronic mintoring software is the best way to reduce the number of hours Climson employees spend on personal or recreational activities.The argument is unconvincing for several reasons.

Firstly, the speakers recommendation relies on the assumption that the national survey correctly depicts the situation which might be also be present in Climson Industries. Perhaps, there might be the possibility that the Climson Industries workers may not be using the company computers for their personal activities but the workers of other Industries around the nation might be using more. So in this situation installing software at Climson Industries to monitor their employees Internet usage will be undesirable as since their employees dont have that habit.

Secondly, the speaker of the argument claims that installing the software will help company to increase their productivity and overall profits by preventing their employees to use Internet. Perhaps, there might be th possibility that the software which need to be installed to monitor the the employees Interet usage might be very costly or may require additional hardware requirements.Along with it there might be the possibility that the annual maintenance costs of these software might outweigh the Industries overall profits. So in this condition the decision of vice president of human ecources at Climson Industries to install such software will result in decreasing of Industries' capital.So, this lack of funds may affect its overall productivity.

Thirdly, the speaker fails to account for the possibility that the workforce of Climson Industries might not be using the company computers for their work purposes. There can be the possibility that Climson Industries entire functioning be based on non-computerised machines and only a meagre amount of work may be carried out on the computers. So in these condition installing software to monitor some workers activities will not produce a significant rise in productivity or overall profits.

In sum, the speakers recommendation to install software to monitor their employees Internet usage is untenable as it fails to account for various other possibilities. To strenghten the argument, the speaker must provide evidence about what amount of employees on Climson Industries have access to Internet. To better assess the argument, we would also like to know more information about the cost of software used to monitor the employees Internet usage and its effect on Industries capital.