To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement claims that the to understand the significant characteristics of a society, one

must study its major cities. Major cities are the locations which are ones more prone to drastic changes,

as it can be seen from the historical context. I totally agree with the statement, as it cities

which provide us with the diverse features that are prevailing which can be attributed to the

development that these cities have noticed since past times.

The primary reason being why the statement is appropriate is that the major cities which are

present today have taken a long time to develop as due to many historical reasons. The role

of ancient events have shaped these cities into a critical shape that represents various essential

features of society. As these cities were the ones which were the first to be resided by human populations

in the given area. Due to the inhabitation of these cities by human populations have shaped them into

major hubs which can be used as residential,promotional,transportations and for various other purposes.

For example, most archaeologists and historians have founded the items of historical importance from these major cities.

The second reason being that the major cities have attracted diverse population from many sections of

society due to their facilities. These diverse populations when get resided in these cities influence the

societal development of these cities. Also as it is noticed that in any country the major cities are the

locations which have the highest population, the presence of such a vast population makes it easy to

understand various aspects of a society.

The third reason being the the kind of ambience which these major cities provide to its denizens

makes it possible for them to expand their capabilities to derive some fruitful outcome. In such

a situation it would be easy to get response from every individual of a society. This will in turn

facilitate the societal understanding and development which can be understood by interviewing or

sharing the experience of individuals.

However, not in every way we can say that major cities are the only source to understand the

crucial characteristics of a society. As it is noticed that there are many cities which though

being not regarded as major cities have helped in a better way to understand the social and

cultural features of a society.

In sum, the statement is appropriate in stating that major cities are the ones which serve as

a rich source to extrapolate the important characteristics of a society. These societies have

mae it easy for historians to carry out their task to understand the important characteristics

of a society.