The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"A recent national survey found that the majority of workers with access to the Internet at work had used company computers for personal or recreational activities, such as banking or playing games. In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Using electronic monitoring software is the best way to reduce the number of hours Climpson employees spend on personal or recreational activities. We predict that installing software to monitor employees' Internet use will allow us to prevent employees from wasting time, thereby increasing productivity and improving overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

While it may be true that if the Climpson company installs monitoring program, it will prevent employees to waste their time at work; however, the author's argument does not make a cogent case. It is easy to understand that majority of workers may use the company internet for their personal activities, but the arguer needs verifiable evidences to prove his/her recommendation.

First of all, the author mentions that majority of workers use company computers and internet for personal activities such as playing game or banking. But the arguer does not provide evidences for his/her claim. There is a high possibility that workers could use the company internet during their break times. Or they may use the internet for work related activities. For example, using a company internet to check a bank account for pay stub accuracy is rational because this activity is related to work.

Additionally, the author recommends monitoring employees for internet use which is not a good idea. The reason is workers may think that the company does not thrust them anymore which is not going to make good connection and communication between workers and the company administers. They may even quit their jobs because they may not be willing to work where there is too much pressure on them. Moreover, worker may get tired to work constantly all day which will not result in productivity improvements or company profits. To strength his/her recommendation, the arguer needs to make consider other factors that can affect productivity improvement rather than monitoring employees for internet use.

Last but not least, the arguer does not mention about employees' personal devices which can be used easily without any monitoring. For example, a male worker who does not have permission to use the company computer for personal activities will definitely use his cellphone. Thus, installing software to monitor workers will not be useful that much.

The author can make his/her suggestion persuasive when he/she gathers information about the amount of time that employees spend on internet for their personal needs and if they use the internet during their break times or not. After answering these questions, the arguer can make such a conclusion.