“When the Apogee Company had all its operation in one location, it was more profitable than it is today. Therefore, the Apogee Company should close down its field offices and conduct all its operations from a single location. Such centralization would improve profitability by cutting costs and helping the company maintain better supervision of employees.”

The author of the argument argues that the company should close down all the field offices and conduct all its operations from a single site. furthermore to prove he states that apogee company was more profitable when it had all its operations in one site. The author also adds that this decision would improve the profits and keep up better supervision of all employees.The underlying argument certainly has merits but due to vague language , weak assumptions the argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed. some of the flaws are as follows.

First, the author while stating that the apogee company was more profitable when it had all its operations in one site . The author has not stated that the site criteria was the only criteria for determining profitability . For example, if the company was new and due to extensive advertisements the profit was high then the author while stating that the company was profitable when it had its operations is flawed.

Second, Using the causal relationship of the site and the profits, the author is suggesting to close down all the field offices. The author while stating this has not taken the current scenario into consideration. For Instance, if the field offices are major source of information for the main office. closing down the field offices would have a negative impact to the company.

Third,The author states that centralization will improve profits by cutting costs and will help the company support better supervision . The author has not studied the current scenario into consideration For example, if each of the field offices had a specific set of employees such as Business Development , sales Engineer , sales Director working towards one goal. Mixing these employees would cut their efficiency.

Although as written the argument is categorically unconvincing , the author could strength the argument by adding some detailed study behind the shifting of all field offices to one site. However without this the argument reasoning remains faulty and the argument remains implausible.

In the conclusion, the author presents an interesting but flawed argument . Had the author presented the details as stated above the argument would have been persuasive. As it stands the argument remains weak. Hence, I remain unconvinced