Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the argument, author concludes that, the sickness and stress-related illness is lesser in Leeville than in Masonton due to relaxed pace of life in Leeville. This, he implies based on the number of sick days workers take and the diagnosis of stress-related illeness. However, author doesn't take into account following possibilities that could seriously account for the facts on which he bases his conclusion.

Firstly, the argument states that, the workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick leaves than those from Large city of Masonton. Based on which, he implies that people from Leeville must be physically fit than from those from Masonton. However, it could be possible that, the people in Leeville are not being allowed to take too many sick leaves and that they're being forced to work even in their illness sometimes. Furthermore, workers from the large city of Masonton could be taking undue advantage of sick leaves, taking sick leaves at even little discomfort. If any of these two explanations are true, then it could seriously weaken the argument that people from Leeville are physically fit than those from Masonton.

Further, it states that, diagnosis of stress related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. It could be possible that, most of the people suffering from stress-related illness are not aware about it and hence, not getting professional help. Whereas, all the people from Masonton, who even face minor stress realted illness must be worried and visiting Doctors. So, it's possible that, people from Leeville are suffering from stress-related illness proportionally higher than those from Masonton. But due to improper data, it might be telling otherwise.

At the end, author attributes the conclusion to relaxed pace of life in Leeville. This author could be implying just because Leeville is a small town. However, due to lack of proper facilities, life in small towns can be stressful as well.

Hence, author should take other possibilities for the stated facts in account before making a conclusion. This conclusion could otherwise be flawed and can't be held to be truthful.