Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

In the given excerpt, the author is comparing the health of residents of town of Leeville with the residents of larger city of Masonton. However, the author has failed to provide required reasoning that prove the genuineness of the claims made. There are a number of weak links that can weaken the provided arguments of the author.

Firstly, the author has provided no concrete ground for the comparison he/she has made between the sick leave taken by workers of Leeville and Masonton. The writer is pointing out that the workers of the former town take fewer sick leaves than the workers of latter. But, there is no mention of any genuine statistical survey or research that would prove the claim. How can one derive such a conclusion without providing any proper statistical data?

Also, there is no mention of job background of the workers. The statement of author is too generalized. The field or working background of workers might be different in both the places. The condition of workplace may also play a major role in defining health of workers. The jobs in Masonton might be more stressful than the jobs in Leeville. It is clearly not mentioned that the workers of both the destinations have same working background. Workers are not the only patients of stress-realted illness. Retired citizens and even unemployeed can also experience stress-related illness.

Secondly, the author is claiming that the diagnosis of stress-related illness is much lower in Leevile than the Masonton. Again, the author has failed to provide genuine proofs of the above claim. How can one directly attribute stress-related illness to the working background? Sometimes personal problems might plays its own role in developing stress-related illness. Also, the diagnosis data depends on the number of people approaching the health centres. What if fewer number of people are approaching for the diagnosis of stress-related illness in the town of Leeville.

At last, the author is citing the claim of Leeville Chmaber of Commerece, who attributed the above claim to the more relaxed pace of life in Leeville. But, how can anyone compare pace of life with the stress-related illness? Even with a steady pace of life, one might develop stress-related illness. Sometimes, just a few hours of work can produce more stress than the continous full day work. The author has not given required reasonings to prove his/her point more impactfully.

Hence, from the above arguments one can conclude that the claim of author is too weak to accept. More facts and reasoning are required to be provided. The comparison of stress-related sickness between two centres must be made while keeping a wide ange of possibilities in mind. Also, by mere comparison of stress level of workers, one cannot not derive that the health benifits of relatively relaxed pace of life of entire town.