All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

The writer, in the given exerpt is suggesting that studying atleast one semester in foreign country will help all college and university students. But, I think, given to the idea of forign studies, one must be more pragmatic. The idea of spending a term in forign nation might look well-planned, but there are various backend scenarios that one must consider. The statement is author, perhaps, is too generalized.

How exactly a semester in foreign land would help students? A study in foreign land has its own barriers. For example, if a student from India wants to spend a term in Germany then the particular student must have grip on German language. Language is one of the most prominent barrier in any foreign land. Therefore, it is not possible of every student to spend a semester in any other nation. There are various researchers that shows that students learning in their own mother-tongue have better understandability than those learing in any other foreign language. Hence, making students to spend their semester in completely different country, with a possible different language may not prove fruitful.

Also, the probability of positive results of studying a semester in foreign land depends on the course and its relative advancements of that particular course in that land. For example, Germany provide best courses in the field of automoblie engineering possibly in the whole world. So, if a student from any other nation spends a semester on automobile engineering in Germany might get a tremendous advantage. But what if a German student is made to spend a term on same course in a different nation? There are high chances that that particular term of student will be wasted. This eventually increases that chances of wastage of resources of both, students and universities/colleges.

Despite of counting all the students for foreign study, one might consider eligibility criteria for the same. Deciding the eligibility criteria may increases the postive effects of the proposed concept of the writer. For example, students studying automobile engineering and having some knowledege of German language can be sent to Germany for one semester. This, perhaps, sounds more pratical than the author's idea of sending all students. This concept, however, is growing and expanding in the current time. There are numerous student exchange programs going on in different universities around the globe. The exchange program is indeed helping the eligible students.

From the above reasoning one can conclude that the idea of spending a semester in a different land is not unconsiderable. But, the author's concept might be considered too generalized. Forign study may help to numerous students, but it cannot work of 'all' students. Perhaps, the writer has proposed a currect concept, but with lack of genuine reasoning that supports the idea. We shall consider wide spectrum of possibilities before deriving any conclusion on topics like forign study of students.