Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton.

Based on the facts that Workers in Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in Masonton and that relative to population size stress-related illness is proportionally much less reported in Leeville than in Masonton, the Leeville Chamber of Commerce concludes that the people living in the smaller city of Leeville live a relatively relaxed pace of life and benefit from it. The argument is well presented but not well reasoned, not strong enough to lead to the conclusion the author want. Following problems serve to undermine the argument.

First and foremost, the author of the argument presents evidence that workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton to support the conclusion. However, the author is falling to consider other possible alternatives to the fewer sick days. It is possible that workers in Leeville is facing so harsh employment conditions that they could not be free to take sick days when they want, which is much more unhealthy compared with their counterparts in the large city of Masoton. To strengthen the argument, the author would benefit from implementing a normed survey asking the workers in the two cities the detailed situation about whether they can take sick days as they want.

The author reasonably assumes that fact that there are less records of stress-related illness in Leeville than in Masonton relative to population size. The argument suggests that the fact results from much fewer stressful jobs in the smaller city, which in consequence leads too much relaxed pace of life. Nevertheless the author do not take in consideration that the opposite may be true as well. Actually, the smaller city could have much higher amount of stressed jobs. Perhaps the workers here are less vulnerable to the stressed working environment, or maybe the most of their wages are not high enough to afford these workers to go to hospitals and check stress-related illness. Unless the connection between the lower diagnosis of stress-related illness and the relaxed pace of life is representative, valid and reliable, it could not be used to effectively back the argument.

In a nut shell, although at first the argument proposed by the author seems convincing and cogent, there are several gaps in the reasoning. In consideration of the fact given, some alternative possibilities are plausible as well. The author fails to adequately support the interference presented in the argument. One can not unequivocally conclude that the city of Leeville has the relatively relaxed pace of life because of the lower diagnosis of stress-related illness and fewer sick days taken by workers.