Benton City residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that the eating habits of city residents conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. During those ten years, l

Based on a recent survey of Benton City residents, the author comes to a conclusion that the obesity rate in the city will soon be well below the national average. Although inference seems logical, the argument is rife with holes and assumptions, not strong enough to lead to the conclusion the author wants. Following problems serve to undermine the argument.

First and foremost, the author presents the evidence that, based on the survey, the eating habits of city residents conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. The argument suggests that these government nutritional recommendations is good to healthy conditions of residents, and in consequence lead to a lower the obesity rate in the future. However, the author is falling to take into consideration that the opposite is plausible as well. Ten years is not a long period that could reveal whether these recommendations are efficacious or not. Even though these recommendations could be effective in the other cities, they probably do not suit Benton City residents. To strengthen the argument, the author would benefit from implementing an elaborate survey about the effectivity of government nutritional recommendations in the other cities for decades.

The author also presents that, based on the survey, sales of sulia have declined dramatically. Since sulia is a food rarely eaten by the healthiest residents, the author deduce that residents would benefit from the declination of sales of sulia, and have a lower the obesity rate. But a fallacious causal relationship is built. The author falls to consider other possible alternatives. It is possible that the healthiest residents hardly eat sulia because the healthiest residents are usually wealthy while sulia is a kind of conventional food for the poor. Maybe sulia is not produced in the area where these healthiest residents live. Anyway, the declination of sales of sulia could not be inevitably connected to the healthy lifestyle. Unless the causal relationship between these two things is valid and reliable, it could not be used to effectively back the argument.

In a nut shell, although at first the argument proposed by the author seems cogent and convincing, there are several gaps in the reasoning. In the consideration of the fact given, some other alternative possibilities are plausible as well. The author falls to adequately support the inference presented in the argument. To validate the argument, the author would need to more information about the effectivity of government nutritional recommendations and sales of the declination of sales of sulia.