Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

The argument presented by the author is not fully backed up by proper facts. Author concluded that the Palean basket were not uniquely Palean based on the current situation of Brim river and the absence of Palean boat in Lithos. The reasons provided by the author is based on several assumption which might be wrong.

With the course of time the dynamics of a river changes. Many river even change its direction of flow also.Some even change the course of flow. So the current scenario of Brim river might not be the case at the time of Palean society. There might be a chance that the river had not existed between these two society or not broad as the river is today, so people of these two society can easily had crossed it for trade or other purposes.

Another compelling reason might be that actually the might had boats but the boats were not like the boats of today's world that's why people are not able to draw the conclusion that they might have boats.It is also possible that with course of time the boat made by the just decayed. Many people in different part of world still uses the trunk of banana tree as boat. The trunk easily degrade with time of a few months.

The reason provided by the author that since woven baskets also find in Lithos, the baskets were not uniquely Palean because no other means of trade or exchange is possible at that time, might be a valid reason but proper facts providing the the evidence and supporting the reason must be found. There might be a possible explanation that the basket of Palean society has drowned and flown through the river and reached Lithos were people of Lithos tried to mimic it and finally succeeded.

According to the passage earlier it was assumed that the woven basket is uniquely Palean but with the evidence of it in Lithos changed the conclusion of the author. Therefore it might be possible that someday we find something else which against change our conclusion. So before going directly to any final conclusion we must analyze all the facts and check the validity of our assumption.