"On this year's survey about work habits, our employees tended to strongly agree with the idea that if they took less time to complete their assigned work, the quality of their work would suffer. However, we recently conducted an internal study that proves this idea wrong. Managers across several divisions identified an overtime group: the employees who worked an average of 48 or more hours per week over the past year instead of the expected 40 hours per week. We then looked at the number of documented work errors produced by all of our employees during the past year and found that the overtime group was responsible for significantly more work errors overall than their fellow employees. On the basis of these findings, our recommendation to the company president is to require employees at Dexter Gorman Instruments to complete their work during the regular 40-hour work week and allow overtime only for urgent circumstances."

First of all, the author is putting his whole argument on the contradiction between this year's survey about work habits, and many managers opinions. But both of these data source can be subjective and inaccurate. There is no evidence of why we should think this survey is legitimate. Maybe the sample size of the dataset was too low. If the survey was conducted among 20 employees then the data will be heavily skewed. Moreover, how was the samples selected, if the samples were selected on personal opinion and based on liking then the whole survey falls apart. On the other hand, the survey found that, the employees strongly agreed with the idea that if they took less time to complete their assigned work, their work quality will decline. This is absolutely true in any sense of the imagination and should not be taken out of context to prove another point. But the author compares the data to the words of many managers who say overtime employees often make more mistakes. Here, the context is completely blown out of proportion as overtime employees mostly work more hours to do additional work. But the author is misrepresenting as the over time employees are the one's doing their work slowly and are the main samples of the year's survey.

Additionally, more work can create more errors. This is obvious from any angle and the author deliberately ignored the notion. It is very likely that the overtime workers were the one's that had more work to do and thus made comparably more errors. This does not mean more errors are bad but does explain why there is such a discrepancies in the dataset. If an employ works 48 hours or more per week rather than 40 than there will obviously be a lack of rest for the person. If he or she does not get enough rest between their work hours it is very likely that many erroneous events will occur.

Moreover, maybe the manager is very picky and overwork the employees they dislike. This can create a unhealthy environment where the lack of respect and dislike for the work can hurt the end result. Furthermore, it is also possible that the companies does not share any additional benefit for overtime. Thus if employees are forced to overwork themselves they do it with minimal effort thus occurring the errors.

Finally, the author comes into conclusion that companies should only do overtimes only for urgent scenarios. But he or she does not provide any current practices. Maybe many companies already use overtime as a urgent practice. Thus diverging from the 40 hour work ween is common for many. This new claim will not work in these certain institutions. To adopt new ways to reduce errors new analysts and computer based assistance features can be added to point out errors. But the author also does not provide what kind of error detection and reduction mechanisms the companies use.

So, as it stands now, the argument is rife with holes and is severely flawed. A new and better systematic survey about the four issues provided can strengthen the claim further.