The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memorandum of Happy Pancake House restaurants the manager avers that, butter and margarine are interchangable and as margarine is cheaper it should be used in all of the different chains of the restaurants for highier profit. The manager in his argument assumes several unwarranted assumptions and to evaluate it further he would have to answer following four questions.

First of all, the manager does not provide us with any information of how many were surveyed for the study. It is possible that the 2% were are concernded with were surveyed with a sample size of mare 50 people, where only one person complained about getting margarine not butter. The survey could also have the questions skewed like, "Do you mind if you get margarine?". If this is the case, then most of the customers will say they dont if they dont know the alternative is butter. But in actuality if customers ordered butter and got margarine it is possible that most will complain. We just do not know. To gain a clear picture of the situation in 'Happy Pancake House' restaurants the author needs to provide the basis of the survey as well as the context which the questions were asked. If margarine was actually indistinguishable from butter then the whole world would be using it in their home nad restaurents.

Secondly, how much cheaper margarine is compared to butter? We know that butter is a healthy food and can be used as oil as well as servings. But, what are the various uses of margarine in the restaurant space? It is possible that the restaurants use butter as their healthy oil and can not switch to margarine in this aspect. Also, if we look from the health perspective margarine may not be as healthy as butter. Then just for more profit should the restaurants change their meals. It may be deleterious for the customer's health an thus can lead to the restaurant get a bad reputation.

Thridly, does the butter the restaurant provide come in the original whole cut up shape, which a layperson can recognize? It is absolutly possible that when the customers want butter they are just cooking with margarine. The test of the two may be similar in nature but that does not change the fact that they are deciving the customers by providing the worng product. Also, the customers may not know what a margarine is. In this situation the customer may get the margarine and think it is butter as they have the same flavor and texture. The restaurant is responsible for their actions of giving cheaper food to the customers. And holds all the legal responsibilities if anything goes wrong.

Finally, is "Happy Pancake House" demography same as its southeast and northeast restaurants? If not then the authors claim does not hold water. The restaurents could be completely different in nature, from demography to food menu. It is also possible that margarine is more popular in the area because it is supplied locally and many of the customers are the producers. If this is the case the only reason the customers even eating margarine over butter is becasue of their own personal gain. Maybe the happy pancake house is the only restaurant in the area still using margarine over butter due to its declining sales. If they dont attract local businesses then the restaurant wont make any profit. If this is the case then the authors arguments fall apart.

So, as it stands now the authors arguments are rife with holes and full of unwarranted assumptions.