In the age of television, reading books is not as important as it once was. People can learn as

much by watching television as they can by reading books.

The author states that watching television nowadays can be as equivalent as to reading books. The author's claim is unsubstantial and vague. There are no evidences to prove the author's claim. In my ensuing paragraphs, I would justify that the author's view is naive and not at all profound.

It has been rightly said that human mind works in mysterious ways. Things we see for one time is equivalent to things we read ten times. As whenever we observe / discern something, we make a mental picture of the same thing and that helps to find a way to get back to that memory whenever required. It is very easy to fetch the same visual record from our sub-concious mind within seconds. While the same thing is not possible with reading. It is said that as soon as we stop reading something, our mind starts forgetting. And it takes many revisions to learn the same thing. This narrow viewpoint will lead many people to think that people should watch more then reading. But as said by DALAI LAMA," We have wider free ways but narrower viewpoints." There is a reason why schools emphasize on reading more and more, rather then watching a movie or something on television.

When a guy readas something, he tries to make a mental picture of the same, the mind of the person works creatively to create that mental picture. And everyone who read the same thing will make their own visual picture. For young students, this process is very important as it leads to the growth and development of a child's mind. If schools starts showing every students a video and make them stop reading books then the required creativity that is ameliorated through reading will not take place. Also reading stuff helps in increasing language, vocabulary, thinking capacity, concentration etc.

Finally, I would like to state the obvious, People learn what they see. And many times the media is biased and the true facts are not laid out to the layman. This leads to brainwashing of general population. Many things shown on television are not useless and are of no use to growing children. They even have adverse effects on the minds of younger generation. This may lead to serious damage to children's delicate and callow minds. Nowadays there are very few programs on selected channels that helps in improving knowledge and overall development of people.

And from above points I would like to conclude that the though we learn faster when we see, it should not be the dogma for present generation to just watch and stop reading. If the author's claim were so true, then why does such big Newspapers company still exist? Why does still lots of books / novels are sold? Why hasn't any governments, even in various developed countries, has implemented the idea of watching instead of reading? The answer is, Everyone knows that the television was an important invention and quite useful. But its advantages are limited and it has been used more for entertainment, rather then EDUCATION or increasing KNOWLEDGE of people.