Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

I do not agree with the author's claim that the financial need of all major cities should be fulfilled because in major cities the nations cultural traditions are engendered and preserved.Many countries have diverse culture, with different ethnic groups, different languages, different religions and different climates.In my ensuing paragraphs I will try to substantiate my stand.

Primarily, the country's cultural traditions are divided geographically. Many countries covering large geogrphical area has the highest possiblity of different cultutres in different regions.And in all that regions, there is always a major city which has prospered in terms of techonlogical, medical, educational & scientific advancements due to the natural resources its posess like huge water resource (river or sea coast), easy connectivity with other regions, hard-working peolpe etc. but the most crucial thing that leads to this advancements is the mindset of people in that city. People here are easly adaptive and susceptible to changes. They can easily forsake their previous practices and take up the new and beneficial practices in order to advance. They will adopt all the better ideas and cathartisize the old ones. They forgo their own culture and practices just to be more developed and advanced than others.

This is becoming a competition basically.Each city trying to be more and more developed whereas all the rural areas are left neglected. Also as the city grows bigger, it attracts more and more people from places and it becomes impossible to find any particular cultutre (it becomes a cosmopolitan city). No one cares about anyones culture in these major cities. People usually are so much engrossed in their own life and in pursuit of happiness (which is obviously money), that they hardly get time in preserving or generating their own culture.At some point of time obviously, culture must have generated there, but now due to all the technological advancements, its capacity to generate has depleted.

Subsequently, I would like to emphasize that having a museum which flaunts all the ancient items, depicting stories on the wall, etc can be called preserving of culture but that does not cost as much as major cities usually ask from Governments. As per the census in 2010 in USA it was observed that, the contribtution going to the preserving of old art and precious stones or items is the least. Cities are using the money for development of roads, electricity, new buildings, 5-star Hotels, Recreational Parks on the outskirts etc.Also if anyone visit the rural areas, they can find all the cultural traditions in one place, that too not behind a glass box; people here follow their own historical practices and not mesmerised by any advancements. For example, India has always been known as the most diversed country in the world. There are 362 official languages and more than 2000 dialects. There are sky rocketing Himalayas, a Thar desert, 4000 kms long sea coast, more than 20 major rivers etc.If you go to himalayan region, you will find the people in those villages are engaged in step farming or cultivation of tea, coffee etc while in plains, cultivation of wheat, rice, dal etc takes place. In coastal region you will find more developed cities, while in central region more of forests and villages can be observed. These differences create a divide between rural areas and urban areas. And all the rural areas have the cultural traditions intact and are never promoted due to lack of financing.

Finally I would like to conclude that governments should try to preserve these rural areas so that their greenery, their ethnicity, their language, their cultutre all remain untouched and unadulterated by the advancements which depreciates its distinct cultural identity.A nation's uniqueness is known by its cultural and biodiversity and so the financial support which the major cities require may be fulfilled in order for them to thrive but not for the reason that the cultural traditions are preserved and generated in major cities.