An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

While the given recommendation carries some weight in terms of starting a system of doctor-review regarding similarly afflicted patients, there are many things which may get neglected. A record may not be indicative of all the factors that come to play during the course of treatment.

For a certain affliction, the doctor may prescribe a totally different set of courses. This can generally happen depending upon the various types of differences in the prior history of a patient regarding certain disease. Some of them cannot be understood by an ailing patient who accesses doctor's records. Also it is not necessary to what extent the records describe the patients. So there is very less chance that a patient would determine that a doctor is incompetent, when he/she is unable to interpret the medical terms and data relating to them.

Closely related to understanding patient to patient dissimilarities, is the way the patient on the record has taken up the course prescribed by the doctor. It is easily understood that one may have failed to take up the course seriously or have missed a few medicines here and there, which were to be taken very strictly. Also the patient on the records may have another set of conditions along with the concerned condition, like having an allergy to certain salts or chemicals, and so on. In such cases the doctors usually prescribe an alternate salt based on their understanding of the unique situation.

Along the same lines there is also a possibility that the failed treatment of some patient regarding same condition may have led the doctor to realize the potential of incorporating new treatment method, having new and improved medicines. There is always a chance of new breakthrough in that field which is sure to treat the condition. Also we should keep in mind that maybe all the doctors have failure reports on treating such disease or conditions. It can be a new disease or only one salt which is available to treat that medical condition, that the ailing patient has, which would be equally to tough to tackle for all the doctors.

Thus an access to doctor's records may give some assurance if the medical condition was previously treated by the doctor with positive results, but it is illogical to pass a judgement on the competency of a doctor if there was a failure in the past.