"Sports stars & movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility." - Write a response

The sports stars and movie stars are the ones whose work is seen by masses. Unlike politicians or bureaucrats who are confine to work in offices, they are easily hated or admired by a large group of people. Also, they earn millions of dollars and play role models for many.

All sports stars and movie stars have wide fan following on social media. Also they are exclusively and unflaggingly chased by media and hence their social life becomes available to public. While public rejoices on everything they get to know about their favorite stars, they are also deeply influenced by their lifestyle. This means that all these stars have a wide audience who is waiting for anything which gets aggregated for them, by the media. Hence this itself becomes a ground which must drive the stars to portray themselves as quixotic.

Due to this influence they have, everything from their style statements, dialogues, real life behaviors, interests are widely repeated by their followers. Hence they do have a moral responsibility to choose their vices carefully if any. For example if a movie star like Salman Khan is blamed for rash driving, or illegal hunting, the same would become a dream of their followers. In order to feel like him, they will also try to be the king of the roads and go all rash. If every other movie star keeps divorcing, rather then tackling or solving their problems, every follower would think that divorce is a better option. This is totally uncalled for. This also goes on to abstain from carousing, drug abuse and so on which is very common among celebrities these days.

By leading a life which is exemplary for others and indulging in the community issues which every country has, a star can prove himself/herself to be a very good role model for their followers. Since they earn hefty amount of income, they do have a good amount of resource which they can put to use by catering to betterment of the society. This would not only create more good people in the society, by being good examples, but also have a good life for themselves.

Therefore celebrities should rather indulge in doing good for society outside their field of work and become a good source of inspiration for their followers.