All college students should be required to take math courses, even if the students have no interest in math.

Yes, I am of the opinion that introductory mathematics courses are absolutely essential for entry-level college students and should be made compulsory regardless of the student’s inherent interests in the subject itself.

We live in an increasingly data-oriented world, a world that is being driven by a daily increase in computational power. In such a world, one should at least possess the ability to perceive and make sense of quantitative information, regardless of the field that they are being educated in. Introductory calculus and statistics courses (even if more in an applied context) go a long way in equipping individuals with the tools to make sense of such quantitative information.

In the context of modern science, especially in the context of the falsifiable, hypothesis driven research, statistics is unavoidable. Modern scientific research has been plagued by the incorrect use of statistics and the lack of mathematical intuition is one of the crucial reasons for this happening. Mathematical education is crucial for anyone wanting to a pursue a career in the field of scientific research.

Just as the microscope was a tool that facilitated an explosion in helping push the envelopes of what we understand in the field of biological sciences, mathematics can and should be considered as the modern equivalent of the microscope. The push towards making science more quantitative has had a profound impact in helping us broaden our understanding the natural world, be it in economics, chemistry or conservation biology.

Modern society is also characterized by a general distrust in the scientific method. This is not without reason. Journalists reporting on scientific stories haven’t been equipped with the tools to understand and interpret quantitative information and so modern science journalism has been plagued by shoddy reporting of data and results. This can be rectified by the teaching of science to journalists.

Just as in the sciences, mathematics can be viewed as a tool in the arts as well. Several musicians have been employing mathematics and mathematical structures in their underlying song compositions to produce music that pushes artistic boundaries. Similarly, the artist MC Escher produced paintings with several inherent mathematical structures. Art and mathematics need not and should not be independent of each other.

Ultimately and most importantly, in an increasingly information and data heavy world, mathematical and quantitative perception of things helps us in understanding and making sense of this data. The world is filled with people holding prejudices and a proper quantitative understanding of existing data is one of the most powerful methods to help dismiss these prejudices in people.