All college students should be required to take math courses even if the students have no interest in math

I don't agree with this assumption that all college students should be required to take math courses. Firstly, with the development of modern technology and AI techniques, we can easily solve math problems with the help of a much shorter time than we do. With the help, we don't have to acknowledge the rationale of math but give some simple verbal orders which do not require the acknowledge of math.

Secondly, the memory in our brain fades as time goes on. We won't be able to remember things that haven't been using for a long time. As an art student, the only chance that I use math is to tip in restaurants in daily life. The calculator in my phone masters the job much better than I do. I just need to type some numbers from the receipt and add the percentage, and then the total comes up less than a second in my calculator. Does it require any acknowledgment of math? Yes, it is. But it for sure does not need to take classes to learn how to do it. If we spend a lot of time remembering things that we would not use often, there is no doubt that it is a waste of time.

Admittedly, math is important in our life. It is the basis of science, physics, and other areas. Without math, technology would not be so flourishing. On the other hand, development speeds up our lifestyle. It makes our life faster and easier. While it can be a lifestyle that some people interested in and pursuing. However, I believe that there is still a big amount of people who want to live a slow-paced lifestyle, just like the Amish people. They have been keeping the old fashion without electronics for decades, and they enjoy it. I believe that flooding their life with numbers would totally destroy their life.

Except for math, there are plenty of areas that we can devote to, like art, music, geography. Why don’t we spend all of our time on the things that we love and have passion with to make it to the top? There is a saying that “you are wasting your life doing the things that you are not interested in.”If every student in school is required to task math class even if they don’t want to, it can be seen as a waste of life. And being forced to do things may have a negative effect on the psychological health of students too. The increasing suicidal rate and substance abuse cases in school kind of prove that.