All to often, companies hire ouside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

In a world of capitalization, competition is the name of the game and is increasing by the day. As organizations increase in size, it becomes harder for managers to effectively bring their organization to the efficient and competitive level that is required to stay ahead of the game. It can be time-consuming and requires a high level of expertise to accurately identify problems within an organization and that is why more and more organizations have been pointing their attention to hiring consultants. The prompt suggests that if companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary. I disagree for three reasons: consultants offer a competitive advantage, objective perspectives and allow employees to focus their energy on their own area of expertise.

To begin, consultants are trained in the science of efficient business operations. This means that they have been trained in more than just business management but the techniques of increasing revenue and the inner workings of conflict management. For example, a consultant can be a competitive advantage because they may have knowledge about other competitors that you do not. To know what every surrounding company is doing would be very difficult in the midst of also trying to increase your own efficiency and effectiveness. It is beneficial to have someone with a degree in industrial/organizational science to offer further insight into how to gain the upper hand in the current climate you are operating in.

Further, this educated consultant offers an objective perspective on something that is very near and dear to the manager's hearts. It is difficult to look at the big picture of something you are so invested in so it is beneficial to have an outside perspective. For example, there could be an interpersonal relationship that are impeding on the organization's efficiency. This conflict could be rooted at the bheavior of the CEO which may coincidentally b the best friend of the manager. Given that the two are friendly and close, it may go right past them that the CEO is actually the problem. A consultant would be able to recognize this and also confront the problem without any direct tension given they have no personal gain or investment beyond reporting what they've gathered.

The statement above implies that inviting a consultant to evaluate business operations oversteps an oppurtunity for the current employee's opinions to be heard. I disagree because an effective consultant should consult with the current employees to hear their side and their opinions. After all, consultants know that no one knows and deals with the consequences of many business decisions more than the employees. The consultant can take all of this information, file it objectively and create a comprhensive conclusion based on the qualitative data collected. Now, employees opinions have been heard but in a way that allows for employees to still invest their energy on their own area of expertise and managers the same.

Overall, by investing in a consultant, the organization is investing in gaining a strong competitive advantage through the third-pary objective perspective and their comprhensive and educated review of the entire business and its operations. By allowing someone to look at the operations from an outside perspective, they can see things as they are and the employees do not have to stop beyond their short consulting meeting with the consultants. This allows for the business to keep moving, which in itself means higher efficiency.